Click here to play

19 Jun

Games will always be connected to the words children, childhood and fun.

But to tell you honestly I didn’t really had much fun during my childhood.

My childhood was kinda boring. I was not allowed to go out to play, well it’s not like I had playmates or friends in our neighborhood.  To add, my sisters are way older to play with me. Hello ten-year gap! So I was stuck at home with the toys handed down by my sisters.  It was boring and incomplete if I may say so. I guess this is the reason why I still love playing. Do not get me wrong though, I am not playing with dolls, balls and cars anymore. I play different games now. Thanks to the Internet, I can play online games like Moshi monsters, hotdog bush and visit online game sites like orisinal.com and y8.com. These two websites are my favorites because of their cute characters and background music and its long list of games varying from different genre.

Games are usually composed of goals, rules, challenges and interaction and generally involve mental or physical stimulation, and often both. This is according to Chris Crawford’s book, Chris Crawford on Game Design. These characteristics will also be evident in the game I will try to play this time, the game of New Social Media. New social media has its goals for sure and which I am to discover. It stays alive because of its rules and the different interaction of its players. This game also poses challenges. And, new social media must of course involve mental and physical stimulation.  You see it’s very much like a game! I will play this game. I will not expect to win every time though, I must also experience to lose for me to learn. For in this game, I will play to learn.

This is now my cue to explain the reason behind the name of my website. Gameplay according to Staffan Bjork and Jussi Holopainen in their book Patterns in Game Design, is the structures of player interaction with the game system and with other players in the game. Gameplay involves the experiences of the player during the game. This definition just suits my purpose to keep a blog to write down my learnings and experiences in playing the Game of New Social Media.

Game face ON.  :p

One Response to “Click here to play”

  1. gumiho November 25, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    girls games
    Thanks to the Internet,Games will always be connected to the words children, childhood and fun.

Leave a Reply

