Continue to next level? Yes.

19 Jun

My sister and I once got addicted…

Before you raise your eyebrow, let me finish my sentence. My sister and I once got addicted to playing Hotdog Bush. It is a game where you get to run your own hotdog stand. Just like most games, it starts with level one. Level one is easy, we all know that. It is testing whether you will click that X up there or stay and continue on to level 2. Well, it is obvious that we continued to level 2 and the level after that and the next and the next until we finally finished it in one day.

As I have observed, there are actually many things that have levels. From wholesome structures and buildings, to the not-so-wholesome stuff you are thinking right now. :p Let’s try to be decent and wholesome in this one, zoom in to the levels or rather the evolution of the Internet. Look back to level 1 of the Internet Age. Obscure = Internet. Level 1 was not easy since Internet and computers were exclusive only for researchers and IT experts. In short it was not for public consumption. People were all trying to figure out what does it do, how can it help them and then queries just keep coming.

Curiosity made people to stay on the Internet page and went on to the next levels as well. I don’t really know what level are we now in the Internet but I’m sure we are not here if we were not satisfied in the previous levels. This is to say that we got something from it that made us stay. Let me share you my own list of the things I love about the Internet. This could also be the list of the reasons why I got addicted to it. 😛

For one, everybody uses it, why not join the bandwagon?

Second, it is so helpful for me. One click and then I get to read my book for my homework but I’d rather do another click to log in to my facebook account. 😛

That is my third reason; it keeps me entertained when a 24-hour day seems like a 100-hr boring day.

Lastly, it connects me to the world.

I think these reasons are also the very reasons of other people why they use the Internet. The basic actions we do are made easy and fast by the Internet and who wouldn’t want that? Bill Gates was right when he said in his essay, Shaping the Internet Age, that in the future, the Internet will have an even more profound effect on the way we work, live and learn.  It is now embedded in our everyday doings.

Even if we are enjoying the benefits of the Internet , we are exposed to its flaws. We should not worry though for Bill Gates said himself that in the coming years we will figure out the solutions to these also with the help of the Internet. So I say, stay on to this page and continue to the next level! Game? Game. 😀

4 Responses to “Continue to next level? Yes.”

  1. What Does That Mean? June 19, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    “Second, it is so helpful for me. One click and then I get to read my book for my homework…”

    “it connects me to the world.”

    These are also my reasons why I use the internet. Now it’s very obvious that one does not really have to be addicted to it to sit in front of the computer for hours.

    It’s part of our lives and it’s a fact. What people need to do is to know their priorities so that they could balance things in their lives.

    :p

    • patpetpitpotput June 27, 2010 at 6:40 am #

      Yes, it is part of our lives already. And i also agree that we should prioritize those people/things that really matter. 😉

  2. minustheinkstains June 19, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    The levelling up is a good idea, unfortunately, like games, a level-up also includes harder challenges. Your picture reminded me of Pacman, and how the mazes always get harder as you progress, and the villains also get fastes. I think that is a great metaphor to the progression of the internet today. The more it levels up, the more complicated the problems get, and with the demand for internet consumption is getting bigger everyday, faster solutions are needed. 😀

    • patpetpitpotput June 27, 2010 at 6:41 am #

      Thanks eya! 🙂

      Yes, and to think that Bill Gates have said that the Internet is still in its infancy stage, we should brace ourselves for the things that we could experience in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

