The case of the missing LC

11 Aug

I was about to sleep when I heard a rattling noise downstairs. The wind that night was howling and the rain just won’t stop. Electricity was down so I lit up a candle and carefully went downstairs to check on the noise.  I was walking slowly with my heart beating faster. The candle I was holding fell and so did my heart when I saw… Nah, save the suspense story for next time. We don’t really have a second floor so there’s no downstairs. 😛 But this next story is true. 🙂

I checked my phone credits last night (past midnight)  and it was not the remaining balance I was expecting. Hence, the case of the missing Load Credits. 😛 I called the customer service of my network  (which will be revealed later anyway) and apparently their customer service is up to 12 midnight only. The operator suggested me to go to http://www.globe.com.ph and click on chat to get answers for my queries.

yes you can but…

So there I was facing the computer and chatting with globe err with Jacob (the name of the CS representative).

meet Jacob 😛

I told my dad that I was chatting with Globe and he said that I should be careful because there are a lot of predators online. I appreciate the concern daddy but they can’t actually do that because they have to portray a good brand image, even online, so as to have a good brand reputation. So anyway, Jacob asked me a lot of questions including what was the exact time I sent sms, the balance inquiry etc.,  and then he asked me to wait for two minutes to look for the information I needed.  Then he dropped THE word.

[00:44:10] Jacob: I’m sorry, Kaye, I could not retrieve the information you need right now as our system is currently unavailable. You may chat with us again tomorrow.
[00:44:27] Jacob: i mean later mam, this morning around 8-9am

So I said to him, after the long Q and A, your system is unavailable? and then later I will be asked again with a lot of questions. He said that he will be saving the information I gave him so the next agent would just have to refer to it. Then the session ended. A notification then asked me if I wanted to have a copy of the transcript of the conversation. It was sent to my email and that’s where I got THE word in verbatim. The session ended and the case of the missing LC was not solved through Globe CHAT assist.

I have expected a much faster conversation and solution to my concern but what I got was a lot of questions and no answer. And a transcript for, I don’t know, to savor the memory Jacob and I had? This was the first time I used GCA but it failed me too early. In all fairness, I appreciate Globe’s attempt to use another medium to assist and answer the concerns of their clients.  I called the customer service earlier this morning and she asked me a lot of questions again . Their use of the new social media for their customer service is a good start but it needs a little pimping to improve their service and to keep their promise that “We can help you!”

Customer service, in general, no matter what medium is used, should be quick and should really really answer the customer’s problem. The process or the company’s system for doing customer service is the one that  should always be developed.

In my dismay, up to now the case of the missing LC has not been solved.

*Updated: The missing LC was credited back to me. Yay! 😀

4 Responses to “The case of the missing LC”

  1. barrycade August 20, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    you got your load credits back, congrats! it does pay to bring issues up with companies.

    i did this once too in a supermarket. to cut the story short, i got a big Christmas basket. hahaha 🙂

  2. slightlydillydallying August 21, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    Nice that you got your load credits back. I experienced losing a large fraction of my call and text balance when I was still a Smart user. I never attempted to call the operator for even the customer service via cellphone was charged. Now that there are efforts to use the Internet as a free-of-charge customer service portal, I think it is high time that I consider filing a complaint if I encounter the same loss again. 😉

  3. thefeistyfeline October 2, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    Wow. At least Globe has reliable customer service. More than five years ago, a lot of companies had already tapped into the 24-hour (telephone) customer service. Yet, it is just recently that companies have employed the newest hotline via the internet. Again, it’s all about knowing the changing trends and integrating them appropriately.

  4. Jet Tumang October 2, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    Wow. I was surprised with this new kind of customer service. To be honest, although the customer service might have failed you, I can’t help but get impressed with the real-time online customer service. I’m amazed, really. I just hope that these kinds of services would be integrated to other aspects of Filipino life, and that everybody would be introduced to such concepts, hopefully making the Philippines an online nation. ^_^

Leave a Reply

